And then…?

So he drops this emotional bomb on me.  I don’t know what to do.  I contemplate kicking him out of bed, or the house, but it’s 2am, and with this new information I don’t trust him to leave the house and not repeat this behaviour.  So we both sleep, I guess.

The next morning (a Friday), he gets up and ready for work, as though nothing’s wrong.  Which included getting naked for his shower.  I didn’t want to see that!  When he’s done, I take a shower, but get dressed and undressed in the bathroom.  Finally, when I come out, I tell him not to come home that night. 

So I finally had the balls to kick him out, but just for the weekend.  On Sunday we talk, and he expresses how he wants to help with baby girl and all, so I decide he may as well come home, but he’s sleeping downstairs.

He’s decided to try another 12-step program, similar to the first, but slightly different.  He even says he’s going to do “90 in 90” — 90 meetings in 90 days.

Great!  Ok, he’s finally getting the help he needs, and everything will be better now!

After a week or two, I see that he’s starting to feel better, and I’m seeing some positive changes in him.  Strangely, I become jealous.  He’s feeling better, and I still feel like shit.

So I look for more help, for me.  That’s when I found my Anon group–for friends and family members of Sex Addicts.  It’s the same idea as Al-Anon is the counterpart to AA.  This group has been immensely beneficial to me.

I’m deliberately not being specific about the group because our 11th tradition states: “Our public relations policy is based on attraction rather than promotion, we need always maintain personal anonymity at the level of press, radio, TV and films” [and internet].  If you think this program would be beneficial to you, feel free to message me privately and I’ll share the details.  I just don’t want it to seem like I am speaking for the fellowship.

So, I’m in recovery (x2!) and he’s in recovery, so everything will be fine!

Yeah, they call that the pink cloud, and that doesn’t last.

Leave a Reply

