Acceptance.

God grant me the serenity to accept the things I cannot change, courage to change the things I can, and the wisdom to know the difference.  -Serenity prayer

And acceptance is the answer to all of my problems today.  If I am disturbed, it is because I find some person, place, thing or situation–some aspect of my life–unacceptable to me, and I can find no serenity until I accept that person, place, thing or situation as being exactly the way it is supposed to be at this moment.  Nothing, absolutely nothing, happens in God’s world by mistake.  -Acceptance prayer (? Is it a prayer?  Well, it’s from the AA Big book, arguably the most quoted line)

Emma was waging an all out war on sleep last night.  I tried every trick in the book–twice!  It took almost 3 hours to get her back to sleep.  She had woken up at 1:30.  You do the math.

She had a pediatrician appt. this morning (just a check up), but when I went back to bed at 4-something, I decided to say screw it.  No way was I getting to an appointment in 4 hours.  Well, she still didn’t sleep as long as I’d hoped.

So I dropped her off at daycare.  I get home, and realize I have a flat tire.

-=-=-

Ok, so that’s as far as I got before AAA showed up to put on my spare, and I went to the tire place.  I think I managed to turn the day around.  I made a new program call (SLAA), and then asked her to be my sponsor once I finish Step 1 with Chris.  I’ll call her Natalie.*

Then I got a lot accomplished while I was waiting, I did some step work for my meeting with Cameron tomorrow, and started the application for the crisis line volunteer position which I have an interview for on Thursday.

The best news?  Fixing my tire cost $0.  I’d hit a pothole, so they just had to bend the tire back into shape–no charge!  But the first thing I said when I called Natalie was, “I’m really struggling with acceptance today.”

I think in my last post I said something about how I struggle with outreach calls, because I don’t want to bother people.  And look what happens when I step out of my comfort zone and make one to someone new! 🙂

Ok, now it’s hopefully time for that nap I’ve been fantasizing about all day!

Leave a Reply

