Ride into the Danger Zone!

Danger Zone 2

Yes, this is my second Danger Zone / Archer reference.

SOOOOOOoooooooooooooooooooooo I started online dating.

I’ve been out with two different guys.
The second one was a miserable failure.  I lasted 35 minutes and I think that was a little generous.  Dude had zero social skills.  No volume control, did most of the talking, and if I tried talking but paused long enough he would interject and go back to doing all the talking.
When someone feels like they’d be better suited as a client than a partner?  No bueno.

The first one?  Went really well.  I had a lot of fun.  He’s smart, funny, and cute!  The conversation was engaging, he made me laugh, I made him laugh… we have single-parenthood as a shared experience.
It went so well that we had a second date the next day.  I was also feeling a little impulsive after that miserable failure of a date.

Here’s the catch: he’s vegan.  *sigh*
Like, he might even be a little preachy about veganism.  So, just as I’m coming to terms with my eating disorder, I find someone who’s might try to make me feel guilty for eating animals/animal products?  Yeah.  I’m smart.
But, in some ways, only two dates in, it’s been good because it’s helped me reassert my boundaries.  I said, “how about I don’t try to get you to eat animal products, and you don’t try to get me to stop?”  Or something like that.

Are there ethical reasons for vegetarianism/veganism?  Sure.
Do I care about animals?  Yes.  Do I care about humans more? Also yes.
At the end of the day the one and only argument I care about is this: animal products are fucking delicious.
I’m happy to eat delicious meals of any variety, including vegan.  But you can pry my meat and cheese from my cold dead hands.

We’ll see how things go.  I recognize that this issue might be big enough that we have zero chance.  But, I’m sure he’s not the only cute single Dad in this town. 😉  (And I’m not dead set on dating a Dad or anything, just that there’s some automatic shared experience there)

Regardless, I know it’s a good/healthy thing for me to put myself out there in the dating world again. 🙂

P.S.  Sid is finally back! ❤ Even with my second therapist, I still missed him and our sessions.  I’m glad I had the foresight to set an appointment for tomorrow.
I also do genuinely hope that he had fun on his vacation.

One thought on “Ride into the Danger Zone!

Leave a Reply

