(Mis)adventures in Online Dating

So, I’m getting impatient, in the dating game.

I’ve joined that single’s social club, and made a few female (friend) connections.  But no dudes.  Talked to a cute guy at a movie event the other day, we just didn’t click… and I was dying for the movie to start by the end of the conversation.  It really wasn’t that bad, just a little boring, and… I dunno, not a lot of appreciation for the mental health field.  Kind of a big deal for me.  Obvs.
Went to a games night event last night, had a guy who I think was trying to flirt, but was missing the mark.  Being vulgar about enjoying giving cunnilingus during a game =/= flirting.  And then he got too close to me.  Get out of my bubble, dude!

A few weeks ago, after another sour experience at one of these events, I reactivated my OkStupid account.  No luck, as yet.  My favorite so far, however, was the guy who broke the ice by asking if my child is black.

So today I went so far as to post a personal ad on Craigslist.  Peppered with wit, and disclaimers like: “I am not looking for casual sex” and “for the love of god don’t send me a picture of your penis!”  Though worded somewhat differently.
Well, apparently this got someone’s panties in a bunch, because after a few hours, the post was flagged and deleted.  WTAF?

Maybe it was the one guy I’d gotten as far as texting with, until I realized: oh, hey, apparently “I don’t want to see a pic of your wiener” is not strong enough to keep guys from thinking I’ll put out on a first date.  *sigh*

Maybe it was the guy who replied with, “Wow I can see why your divorced, your poor husband is probably in [state psych hospital] now” [sic].  That’s been my favorite of the hater responses.

Or maybe it was just someone who was offended by my strong-willed, “I don’t have time for your bullshit” attitude.

Anyway.  This whole experience is a rather interesting social experiment.  I’m trying to keep that perspective, so I don’t get too depressed, jaded, and lonely.

Oy.  Work is kicking my ass.  I had a meltdown this week over an Email my supervisor sent.  He’s been super micro-manage-y.  And, it turned out, the misunderstanding with Connie, was actually her standing up for me to this supervisor.
So… maybe trying extra hard to find distractions in my personal life has been a bit of a coping mechanism to not obsess over work stuff this weekend.
Damn it.

Well, it’s not like I can wave a magic wand and replace all my negative coping mechanisms with positive ones at once. 😛

Anywho.  That’s about all I’ve got for now.

Leave a Reply

